【Halal issue in Japan】10 ingredients Muslims must be aware of when you are in Japan

Hello, everyone. Welcome back to My channel. Japan Halal FoodieのYoshitoです。
This is Yoshito from Japan Halal Foodie. あなたは日本に何回来たことがありますか?
How many times have you been to Japan? 私はいろんな国に友人がいるので、彼らを日本でアテンドする機会が多いです。
I have friends in many different countries and have opportunities to accompany them in Japan. その時に悩むのが食事です。
The one thing I always worry about is the food. 皆さんも日本に来たときに一番悩むのが食事ですよね。
I know that when you come to Japan, your biggest concern is the food. 残念ながら日本食の多くに豚とアルコールが入っています。Unfortunately, a lot of Japanese food contains alcohol and pork. なので、ムスリムの方は日本で何を食べてはいけないのかを知る必要があると思います。
So Muslims need to know what they are not allowed to eat in Japan. スーパーで買い物するにしても、商品のパッケージを読むことができませんよね?
When you go to supermarkets, the labels on the packages are all written in Japanese, so that you can't read them.

私はそういう皆さんの悩みを解決する情報が必要だと思います。
I think we need information to solve your problems. 今日は、みなさんが日本に来た時に注意しなければいけない10個の食材についてお話します。
Today I will talk about 10 ingredients you need to be aware when you eat in Japan. このチャンネルでは、日本好きのムスリムの方に日本ハラール食品情報を発信しています。
This channel provides Halal food information to Muslims who love Japan. 是非チャンネル登録といいね、を宜しくお願いします。
Please subscribe and like my channel. それでは始めましょう!
Let's get started! みりんは日本料理に欠かすことができない調味料です。
Mirin is an indispensable seasoning in Japanese cooking. 主な目的は、4つあります。
Mirin has four main purposes. ①肉や魚の臭いを消す
①to remove the smell of meat and fish ②旨味を出す
②to bring out the UMAMI ③艶と照りを出る
③to add lustre and shine ④食材の煮崩れの防止する
④to prevent the food from falling apart 日本では肉と魚は毎日食べるものなので、みりんは日本人にとってかかすことができません。
Mirin is indispensable for the Japanese because meat and fish are eaten every day in Japan.

みりんの中でも代表的な本みりんのアルコール度数は14%です。
The alcohol content of hon mirin, the most common type of mirin, is 14%. みりんのアルコールは煮沸すれば飛びます。
The alcohol in mirin can be removed by boiling. しかし、加熱せずに使う料理もあるので注意してください。
However, please note that some dishes use mirin without heating. 日本人が飲む「お酒」は当然アルコールが入っているので当然ハラムです。
The 'sake' that the Japanese drink is naturally alcohol, so naturally it is haram. 今回話しをするのは、料理酒。
What I am going to talk about is cooking sak 料理に使うお酒でこれは飲料用のお酒とは違います。
Cooking sake is used for cooking and is different from beverage sake. 料理酒はみりんと同じで家庭料理や飲食店で使われる代表的な調味料です。
Like mirin, cooking sake is a well-known seasoning used in restaurants and home cooking. 日本人でもみりんと間違える人が多いのですが、
Many Japanese people mistake it for mirin. みりんは料理に甘みと照りを出すもの
Mirin is used to add sweetness and shine to food. 日本酒は食材の臭いを消して、肉を柔らかくするもの、です。
Sake is used to remove odours and tenderise meat. アルコール度数は、みりんと同じで14%です。
Like mirin, sake has an alcohol content of 14%. Like mirin, alcohol can be removed by boiling,
みりんと同様煮沸すればアルコールは飛びますが、
料理の仕方によってはアルコールが残る可能性があるので注意ください。
but depending on how it is cooked, there is a possibility that it may remain. 醤油は1500年以上前から日本で使われている調味料になります。
Soy sauce is a seasoning that the Japanese have used in cooking for over 1,500 years. 皆さんが知っているのはキッコーマンじゃないでしょうか?
You are probably familiar with Kikkoman. 醤油は英語ではSoy Sauceと言いますが、SHOYUでも通じる数少ない代表的な日本の調味料だと思います。
Soy sauce is one of the few typical Japanese ingredients that can also be understood as Shoyu, although it is called Soy Sauce in English.

皆さん、醤油と言えばお寿司をイメージしませんか?
When you think of soy sauce, you probably think of sushi, don't you? ムスリム向けの醤油はハラールなのでアルコールは入っていません。
Of course, soy sauce for Muslims is halal and contains no alcohol.
*Less than 0.5% of alcohol is recognised as JAKIM. しかし、日本のレストランで出てくる醤油はアルコールが入っています。
However, soy sauce served in Japanese restaurants contains alcohol. 醤油のアルコール度数は2%ほどです。
The alcohol content of soy sauce is around 2%. 醤油にアルコールが入っている理由は2つです。
There are two reasons why soy sauce contains alcohol. ①アルコールの自然発酵
①natural fermentation of alcohol ②発酵の抑制
②suppression of fermentation 自然発酵で生じたエタノールはアルコールとして見られません。
Ethanol produced by natural fermentation is not seen as alcohol. しかし、多くの醤油は発酵を抑えるためにアルコールを注入しています。
However, many soy sauces are infused with alcohol to control fermentation.
こちらも煮沸したとしても、料理にアルコールが残る可能性があるので注意下さい。
Note that even if this is also boiled, alcohol may remain in the food. 味噌は大豆を蒸すか煮るかして麹と塩を加えて、発酵させて熟成させた調味料です。
Miso is a seasoning made by steaming or boiling soy beans, adding koji and salt, then fermenting and maturing. 皆さんが味噌と聞くと味噌汁を思い浮かべますよね?
When you hear the word 'miso', you probably think of miso soup, right? 日本の家庭では、特に夕食に味噌汁がよく出てきます。
Miso soup is often served at dinner in Japanese households. 豆腐、わかめ、ネギ、人参、玉ねぎなど多くの野菜を入れて食べます。
It is eaten with many vegetables such as tofu, wakame seaweed, spring onions, carrots and onions. 残念ながら多くの味噌にはアルコールが入っています。
Unfortunately, many miso soups contain alcohol. 味噌のアルコール度数は3%です。
The alcohol content of miso is 3%.

味噌にアルコールが入っている理由は2つあります。
There are two reasons why miso has alcohol in it. ①アルコールの自然発酵
①natural fermentation of alcohol ②発酵の抑制
②suppression of fermentation こちらも醤油と同様に自然発酵で生じたエタノールはアルコールとして見られません。
Same as soy sauce, the ethanol produced by natural fermentation is not seen as alcohol. しかし、多くの味噌は発酵を抑えるためにアルコールを注入しています。
However, many soy sauces are infused with alcohol to control fermentation. 料理で加熱したとしても、アルコールが残る可能性があるので注意してください。
Note that alcohol may remain, even if heated in cooking. 日本のお寿司のお米はシャリと言われています
The rice in Japanese sushi is called SHARI. このシャリにはお酢が入っています。
This Shari contains vinegar. 私はみなさんが食べるハラル寿司を食べたことがあるので違いはわかります。
I have eaten the Halal sushi and I can tell the difference between the two. 一般的なお酢はアルコールを酢酸発酵させて作った調味料になります。
Vinegar in general is a seasoning made by fermenting alcohol with acetic acid. アルコールを一切使用せず、お米を発酵させて酢酸を入れて作るハラール対応のお酢ものもありますが、一般的ではありません。
There are Halal-certified vinegars made without alcohol, by fermenting rice and adding acetic acid, but they are not common. ちなみにお酢のアルコール度数は他の調味料に比べると低い0.2%です。
Incidentally, the alcohol content of vinegar is 0.2%, which is lower than other products. 乳化剤は、水と油のように混ざり合わないものを均一な状態にする食品添加物です
Emulsifiers are food additives that make things that do not mix like water and oil homogeneous. 日本では主に、マヨネーズ、お菓子、アイスクリームなどに使われています。
In Japan, they are mainly used in mayonnaise, confectionery and ice cream. 大豆由来の乳化剤が多いのですが動物性由来のものもあります。
Most of emulsifiers are derived from soya, but some are derived from animal sources. 商品のパッケージの裏面を見ても詳細が書いてない場合が多いです。
In many cases, the product packaging does not give details. 動物性乳化剤の場合は、
In the case of emulsifiers with animal meat origin, 残念ながらハラールに沿った処理がされた肉である可能性はほぼ0%です。
unfortunately, there is almost 0 % chance that the meat has been processed according to Halal.
ゼラチンは動物の皮や骨に含まれるコラーゲンから作られたものです。
Gelatine is made from the collagen found in animal bones and skin.

グミやゼリー、アイスクリームやソーセージにも使われており、一部医療用にも使われています。
It is found in gummy, jelly, ice cream and sausages and is partly used for medical purposes. ゼラチンの主な原料は牛、豚、魚です。
The main sources of gelatine are beef, pigs and fish.  商品のパッケージを確認しても、何由来かは書いていません。
Checking the labels on the products, it does not say what they are derived from. 残念ながらハラールに沿った処理がされた肉である可能性は限りなく0%です。
Unfortunately, there is almost 0 % chance that the meat has been processed according to Halal.
マーガリンはバターの代用品として使われています。
Margarine was introduced as a substitute for butter. 安いので市販のクッキーやお菓子などの価格訴求品によく利用されています。
It is inexpensive and is often used in commercial cookies, confectionery and other price-appealing products.
ショートニングも同じような目的で日本では使用されています。
Shortening is also used in Japan for the same purpose. しかしながら、海外ではショートニングに含まれるトランス脂肪酸が健康に良くないということで使われない国が多いです。
However, in many foreign countries, it is not used because the trans fatty acids in shortening are not good for health. マーガリンやショートニングには動物油脂を使用されたものが多いです。
Mainly margarines and shortenings are made from animal fats and oils. ゼラチンと同様、商品の裏面表示を確認しても、何由来かは書いていません。
Same as gelatine, the labels on the products do not say what the origin is. ハラールに沿った処理がされた肉である可能性は限りなく0%です。
There is almost 0 percent chance that the meat has been processed in line with Halal. ラード
Lard これは言うまでもなく、豚由来の原材料です。
This is, needless to say, an ingredient of pig origin. なのでハラムですね。
Therefore, it is haram. 動物性エキスで多いのは、鶏・豚・牛です。
The most common animal extracts are chicken, pork and beef.

これらのエキスを料理に使うことで、旨み・コク・濃厚感といった味づくりに欠かせない風味が出ます
These extracts are used in cooking to produce flavours such as umami, richness and thickness, which are essential for creating taste. パッケージの裏には、チキンエキス・ポークエキス・ビーフエキスと書いてあります。
On the package, it says Chicken Extract, Pork Extract and Beef Extract. チキンとビーフに関しては、ハラールに沿った処理がされた肉である可能性はほぼ0%です。
As for chicken and beef, there is almost 0 percent chance that the meat has been processed according to Halal.
今回は、あなたが日本に来た時に注意しなければいけない10個の日本食材について話をしました。
In this video, I talked about 10 Japanese ingredients you need to be aware of when you come to Japan. 日本で全ての食材をハラルで調達するのは難しいです。
It is difficult to source all foods with halal in Japan. ですので、豚やお酒を使わない料理も選択肢に入れることになるでしょう。
So you may have to choose dishes that do not contain pork or alcohol.

その際に今回紹介した食材には注意してください。
In doing so, please pay attention to the ingredients introduced in this video. そうそう、コンビニはどう?
Oh yes, what about convenience stores? これは別の動画でお話します。
I will discuss it in another video. 最後まで見て頂き、ありがとうございました。
Thank you for watching until the end.

また会いましょう、さよなら!
See you soon, SAYONARA!.

As found on YouTube

【Halal issue in Japan】10 ingredients Muslims must be aware of when you are in Japan

Hi, this is Yoshito Japan Halal Foodie.

Living in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and making contents about Japanese halal foods.


Share this video:
hhttps://youtu.be/Hm-76KBc-qs

Follow my instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/yoshito_japan

#halal #japanesehalal #japanesefood